TCL’s #20BooksofSummer2021 Wrapup.

This is a yearly reading challenge by Cathy @ 746 Books where bloggers commit to read (10, 15, or) 20 books over the summer, or just count the number of books they read during the summer. This year, I decided to join in again, and committed to read at least 10 books (because I had … Continue reading TCL’s #20BooksofSummer2021 Wrapup.

Atypical 1930s Woman.

Book Review for “A Bright Young Thing” by Brianne Moore. Thanks for the free book @PRHGlobal @prhinternational! Summary: "In early 1930s England, a young firebrand finds herself on a fraught and dangerous road to independence. ... Astra Davies defies all the conventions. Clever, witty, and determined, Astra smokes, drinks, plays a mean piano, and gallivants … Continue reading Atypical 1930s Woman.

The Woman Behind…

Book Review for “The Other Einstein” by Marie Benedict. Summary: "Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, … Continue reading The Woman Behind…

The Structure of Deception.

Book Review for “The Address” by Fiona Davis. Summary: "After a failed apprenticeship, working her way up to head housekeeper of a posh London hotel is more than Sara Smythe ever thought she’d make of herself. But when a chance encounter with Theodore Camden, one of the architects of the grand New York apartment house … Continue reading The Structure of Deception.

#ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Book Review for “An Approach to Black” by Emily Jeremiah. Summary: This novel "traces the fate of Finnish artist Anna S. and her legacy. It’s the late nineteenth century, and Anna is married to Eino, another artist. Eino gains fame and recognition for his idyllic evocations of family life. Anna, meanwhile, goes mad and is … Continue reading #ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Team-W’s First Novel.

Book Review for “The Forgotten Room” by Lauren Willig, Beatriz Williams, and Karen White. Summary: "1945 When critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenel is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan's Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single … Continue reading Team-W’s First Novel.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.

Fight or Flight?

Book Review for “A Funeral for an Owl” by Jane Davis. Summary: "A schoolyard stabbing sends wingbeats echoing from the past. One shocking event. Two teachers risk their careers to help a boy who has nothing. ... The best way to avoid trouble, thinks Ayisha Emmanuelle, is to avoid confrontation. As an inner-city schoolteacher, she … Continue reading Fight or Flight?

#ShortStorySunday – Epistolary Chills from 1938.

Book Review for “Address Unknown” by Kathrine Kressmann Taylor. Summary: “A rediscovered classic and international bestseller that recounts the gripping tale of a friendship destroyed at the hands of Nazi Germany. In this searing novel, Kathrine Kressmann Taylor brings vividly to life the insidious spread of Nazism through a series of letters between Max, a … Continue reading #ShortStorySunday – Epistolary Chills from 1938.

Gently Sweet Chaos.

Book Review for “Mrs. Lorimer's Quiet Summer” by Molly Clavering. Summary: "In what is surely Molly Clavering's most autobiographical novel, two middle-aged women writers, close friends and neighbours, offer one another advice and support while navigating life in a lively Border village. Lucy Lorimer, the more successful author, with her four children, in-laws, and grandchildren … Continue reading Gently Sweet Chaos.