Everything and Nothing.

Book Review for “Cloud Cuckoo Land” by Anthony Doerr. Summary: "Thirteen-year-old Anna, an orphan, lives inside the formidable walls of Constantinople in a house of women who make their living embroidering the robes of priests. Restless, insatiably curious, Anna learns to read, and in this ancient city, famous for its libraries, she finds a book, … Continue reading Everything and Nothing.

A 20th Century Magic Mann.

Book Review for “The Magician” by Colm Tóibín. Summary: "The Magician tells the story of Thomas Mann, whose life was filled with great acclaim and contradiction. He would find himself on the wrong side of history in the First World War, cheerleading the German army, but have a clear vision of the future in the … Continue reading A 20th Century Magic Mann.

Atypical 1930s Woman.

Book Review for “A Bright Young Thing” by Brianne Moore. Thanks for the free book @PRHGlobal @prhinternational! Summary: "In early 1930s England, a young firebrand finds herself on a fraught and dangerous road to independence. ... Astra Davies defies all the conventions. Clever, witty, and determined, Astra smokes, drinks, plays a mean piano, and gallivants … Continue reading Atypical 1930s Woman.

The Woman Behind…

Book Review for “The Other Einstein” by Marie Benedict. Summary: "Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, … Continue reading The Woman Behind…

The Structure of Deception.

Book Review for “The Address” by Fiona Davis. Summary: "After a failed apprenticeship, working her way up to head housekeeper of a posh London hotel is more than Sara Smythe ever thought she’d make of herself. But when a chance encounter with Theodore Camden, one of the architects of the grand New York apartment house … Continue reading The Structure of Deception.

#ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Book Review for “An Approach to Black” by Emily Jeremiah. Summary: This novel "traces the fate of Finnish artist Anna S. and her legacy. It’s the late nineteenth century, and Anna is married to Eino, another artist. Eino gains fame and recognition for his idyllic evocations of family life. Anna, meanwhile, goes mad and is … Continue reading #ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Shading the Saplings.

Book Review for “More Than I Love My Life” by David Grossman (translated by Jessica Cohen). Summary: "[This novel] is the story of three strong women: Vera, age ninety; her daughter, Nina; and her granddaughter, Gili, who at thirty-nine is a filmmaker and a wary consumer of affection. A bitter secret divides each mother-and-daughter pair, … Continue reading Shading the Saplings.

Team-W’s First Novel.

Book Review for “The Forgotten Room” by Lauren Willig, Beatriz Williams, and Karen White. Summary: "1945 When critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenel is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan's Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single … Continue reading Team-W’s First Novel.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.

Women Helping with Wartime Hardships.

Book Review for “Yours Cheerfully” by AJ Pearce. Summary: "London, November 1941. Following the departure of the formidable Henrietta Bird from Woman’s Friend magazine, things are looking up for Emmeline Lake as she takes on the challenge of becoming a young wartime advice columnist. Her relationship with boyfriend Charles (now stationed back in the UK) … Continue reading Women Helping with Wartime Hardships.