Sharing Cider and Stories.

Book Review for “The Golden Oldies' Book Club” by Judy Leigh. Summary: "Ruth the librarian fears she’s too old to find love, but a discussion about Lady Chatterley’s Lover makes her think again. Aurora doesn’t feel seventy-two and longs to relive the excitement of her youth, while Verity is getting increasingly tired of her husband … Continue reading Sharing Cider and Stories.

American Icon in Paris.

Book Review for “Jacqueline in Paris” by Ann Mah. Summary: "In August 1949 Jacqueline Bouvier arrives in postwar Paris to begin her junior year abroad. She’s twenty years old, socially poised but financially precarious, and all too aware of her mother’s expectations that she make a brilliant match. Before relenting to family pressure, she has … Continue reading American Icon in Paris.

TCL’s #DNF Friday #10 – Migratory Muddle.

Why I can't write a Book Review for “The Last and the First” by Nina Berberova, translated by Marian Schwartz. Summary: "On a crisp September morning, trouble comes to the Gorbatovs' farm. Having fled the ruins of the Russian Revolution, they have endured crushing labour to set up a small farm in Provence. For young … Continue reading TCL’s #DNF Friday #10 – Migratory Muddle.

Perilous Deliveries.

Book Review for “The Postmistress of Paris” by Meg Waite Clayton. Summary: "Wealthy, beautiful Naneé was born with a spirit of adventure. For her, learning to fly is freedom. When German tanks roll across the border and into Paris, this woman with an adorable dog and a generous heart joins the resistance. Known as the … Continue reading Perilous Deliveries.

A Bubbly Fictional Biography.

Book Review for “Champagne Widows: First Woman of Champagne, Veuve Clicquot" by Rebecca Rosenberg. Summary: "Champagne, France, 1800. Twenty-year-old Barbe-Nicole inherited Le Nez (an uncanny sense of smell) from her great-grandfather, a renowned champagne maker. She is determined to use Le Nez to make great champagne, but the Napoleon Code prohibits women from owning a … Continue reading A Bubbly Fictional Biography.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.

Reading French History.

Book Review for “The Paris Library” by Janet Skeslien Charles. Summary: “Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together … Continue reading Reading French History.

Trifecta of Troubles.

Book Review for “Trio: A Novel” by William Boyd. Summary: “It is summer in 1968, the year of the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy. While the world is reeling our trio is involved in making a rackety Swingin' Sixties British movie in sunny Brighton. All are leading secret lives. As the film … Continue reading Trifecta of Troubles.

Un Assez Bon Repas!

Book Review for “The Secret French Recipes of Sophie Valroux” by Samantha Vérant. Summary: Summary: “French-born American chef Sophie Valroux had one dream: to be part of the 1% of female chefs running a Michelin-starred restaurant. From spending summers with her grandmother, who taught her the power of cooking and food, to attending the Culinary … Continue reading Un Assez Bon Repas!

A Revealingly Obscure Story.

Book Review for "The Mystery of Henri Pick" by David Foenkinos (Translated by Sam Taylor) "In the small town of Crozon in Brittany (France), a library houses manuscripts that were rejected for publication: the faded dreams of aspiring writers. Visiting while on holiday, young editor Delphine Despero is thrilled to discover a novel so powerful … Continue reading A Revealingly Obscure Story.