American in Paris

Book Review for “The Paris Bookseller” by Kerri Maher. Summary: “When bookish young American Sylvia Beach opens Shakespeare and Company on a quiet street in Paris in 1919, she has no idea that she and her new bookstore will change the course of literature itself. Shakespeare and Company is more than a bookstore and lending … Continue reading American in Paris

Eleven Days in the Dark.

Book Review for “The Mystery of Mrs. Christie” by Marie Benedict. Summary: "In December 1926, Agatha Christie goes missing. Investigators find her empty car on the edge of a deep, gloomy pond, the only clues some tire tracks nearby and a fur coat left in the car—strange for a frigid night. Her husband and daughter … Continue reading Eleven Days in the Dark.

A Bubbly Fictional Biography.

Book Review for “Champagne Widows: First Woman of Champagne, Veuve Clicquot" by Rebecca Rosenberg. Summary: "Champagne, France, 1800. Twenty-year-old Barbe-Nicole inherited Le Nez (an uncanny sense of smell) from her great-grandfather, a renowned champagne maker. She is determined to use Le Nez to make great champagne, but the Napoleon Code prohibits women from owning a … Continue reading A Bubbly Fictional Biography.

Egos and Alters.

Book Review for “I, Gloria Graham” by Sky Gilbert. Summary: "A professor of English literature writes the autobiography of his fantasy alter-ego, wanton movie star Gloria Grahame, while his own sexual desires go frustrated. Denton Moulton — a shy, effeminate male professor — lives inside his head, and inside his head he is really a … Continue reading Egos and Alters.

A 20th Century Magic Mann.

Book Review for “The Magician” by Colm Tóibín. Summary: "The Magician tells the story of Thomas Mann, whose life was filled with great acclaim and contradiction. He would find himself on the wrong side of history in the First World War, cheerleading the German army, but have a clear vision of the future in the … Continue reading A 20th Century Magic Mann.

The Woman Behind…

Book Review for “The Other Einstein” by Marie Benedict. Summary: "Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, … Continue reading The Woman Behind…

Shading the Saplings.

Book Review for “More Than I Love My Life” by David Grossman (translated by Jessica Cohen). Summary: "[This novel] is the story of three strong women: Vera, age ninety; her daughter, Nina; and her granddaughter, Gili, who at thirty-nine is a filmmaker and a wary consumer of affection. A bitter secret divides each mother-and-daughter pair, … Continue reading Shading the Saplings.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.

TCL’s Shelf Control #1 – B is for Boyd.

Shelf Control is a weekly celebration hosted by Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies, of the unread books on our shelves. Lisa says: "Pick a book you own but haven’t read, write a post about it (suggestions: include what it’s about, why you want to read it, and when you got it), and link up! For more … Continue reading TCL’s Shelf Control #1 – B is for Boyd.

Passing the Books.

Book Review for “The Personal Librarian” by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray. Summary: "In her twenties, Belle da Costa Greene is hired by J. P. Morgan to curate a collection of rare manuscripts, books, and artwork for his newly built Pierpont Morgan Library. Belle becomes a fixture on the New York society scene and … Continue reading Passing the Books.