TCL’s #TopTenTuesday for Sept. 21, 2021 – Autumn TBR List.

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. The rules are simple: Each Tuesday, Jana assigns … Continue reading TCL’s #TopTenTuesday for Sept. 21, 2021 – Autumn TBR List.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.

Industry about the Cottage.

Book Review for “The Jane Austen Society” by Natalie Jenner. Summary: Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest … Continue reading Industry about the Cottage.

#TopTenTuesday – Top Ten Books Published Before I was Born.

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. The rules are simple: Each Tuesday, Jana assigns … Continue reading #TopTenTuesday – Top Ten Books Published Before I was Born.

#TopTenTuesday – Top Ten New Authors to TCL in 2020.

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. The rules are simple: Each Tuesday, Jana assigns … Continue reading #TopTenTuesday – Top Ten New Authors to TCL in 2020.

TCL’s Best of the Best List for 2013-2020

You've seen my yearly Top Five/Top Ten lists, but how about a "best of the best" list? For those of you who have been following this blog, you’ll know that I’ve been producing a list of my favorite books published for each of the years I’ve been blogging. While I probably should have done this … Continue reading TCL’s Best of the Best List for 2013-2020

#TopTenTuesday TCL’s Top Ten Favorite Books of 2020.

2020: The Year of Too Many 5/5 Star Books! This past year has been a particularly good one for my reading list, partially because I was furloughed for two months in April and May, and then I retired in July. That means that I was able to read 64 books this year (as compared to … Continue reading #TopTenTuesday TCL’s Top Ten Favorite Books of 2020.

#T5T – Top Five Tuesday for December 15, 2020 – Favorite 2020 Book Covers.

Top Five Tuesday was originally created by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm, but is now hosted by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads. To participate, link your post back to Meeghan's blog or leave a comment on her weekly post. This week, Meeghan asked us to put up our 2020 Favorite Book Covers! This is only the … Continue reading #T5T – Top Five Tuesday for December 15, 2020 – Favorite 2020 Book Covers.

TCL is joining the New Release Challenge (again) for 2021!

Sign Up to Join the 2021 New Release Challenge Here! About the 2021 New Release Challenge The 2021 New Release Challenge is a year-long challenge in which the hosts aim to read books released in 2021.  Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookworms and Brandee are the sole hosts of the challenge, and they are happy to have as … Continue reading TCL is joining the New Release Challenge (again) for 2021!

Sadly Selfish Relationships

Book Review for “The Woman Before Wallis: A Novel of Windsors, Vanderbilts, and Royal Scandal” by Bryn Turnbull. Summary: “In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she’s immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her … Continue reading Sadly Selfish Relationships