The Structure of Deception.

Book Review for “The Address” by Fiona Davis. Summary: "After a failed apprenticeship, working her way up to head housekeeper of a posh London hotel is more than Sara Smythe ever thought she’d make of herself. But when a chance encounter with Theodore Camden, one of the architects of the grand New York apartment house … Continue reading The Structure of Deception.

#SomethingDifferent #12 – Another Poem by The Chocolate Lady!

Once upon a time, I wrote poetry! Somewhere deep inside my #LetsDiscuss2020 #DiscussionSunday post about my regimen vs. impulse posting, I posed the question if anyone thought it might be fun for me to post some of my poetry here on my blog. Well, a couple of people showed interest, and I appreciate that. As … Continue reading #SomethingDifferent #12 – Another Poem by The Chocolate Lady!

TCL’s #DNF Friday #5.

Why I can't write a Book Review for “Wicked” by Gregory Maguire. Summary: "When Dorothy triumphed over the Wicked Witch of the West in L. Frank Baum's classic tale we heard only her side of the story. But what about her arch-nemesis, the mysterious Witch? Where did she come from? How did she become so … Continue reading TCL’s #DNF Friday #5.

#LetsDiscuss2021 #10 – The ONE Must Read Book – #LetsTalkBookish #7.

This article was inspired by the Let's Talk Bookish topic hosted by Rukky @ Eternity Books and Dani @ Literary Lion and this week (August 20, 2021) comes from Mikaela @ Mikaela Reads, which is: What is one book everyone MUST read?  Prompts: There are some books that are just required…or at least you personally … Continue reading #LetsDiscuss2021 #10 – The ONE Must Read Book – #LetsTalkBookish #7.

#ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Book Review for “An Approach to Black” by Emily Jeremiah. Summary: This novel "traces the fate of Finnish artist Anna S. and her legacy. It’s the late nineteenth century, and Anna is married to Eino, another artist. Eino gains fame and recognition for his idyllic evocations of family life. Anna, meanwhile, goes mad and is … Continue reading #ShortStorySunday – Finishing the Wonder.

Shading the Saplings.

Book Review for “More Than I Love My Life” by David Grossman (translated by Jessica Cohen). Summary: "[This novel] is the story of three strong women: Vera, age ninety; her daughter, Nina; and her granddaughter, Gili, who at thirty-nine is a filmmaker and a wary consumer of affection. A bitter secret divides each mother-and-daughter pair, … Continue reading Shading the Saplings.

TCL’s #T5T – Top Five Tuesday #4 – August 17, 2021 – Book Covers with Plants.

Top Five Tuesday was originally created by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm, but is now hosted by Meeghan @ Meeghan Reads. To participate, link your post back to Meeghan's blog or leave a comment on her weekly post. This week, Meeghan asked us to put up Five Favorite Book Covers with Plants! Well, there were … Continue reading TCL’s #T5T – Top Five Tuesday #4 – August 17, 2021 – Book Covers with Plants.

TCL’s #SixforSunday #6 – August 15, 2021.

What is #SixforSunday? #SixforSunday was a little blog feature Steph @ A little but a lot started in June 2017 for herself. It’s a weekly blog post where you get to share 6 books which fill a certain prompt. Originally, #SixforSunday was a post Steph did that she never thought she would stick with! It … Continue reading TCL’s #SixforSunday #6 – August 15, 2021.

Team-W’s First Novel.

Book Review for “The Forgotten Room” by Lauren Willig, Beatriz Williams, and Karen White. Summary: "1945 When critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenel is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan's Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single … Continue reading Team-W’s First Novel.

The Incomparable One.

Book Review for “The First Actress” by C. W. Gortner. Summary: "The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz. From her beginnings as the daughter of a high-class courtesan to her … Continue reading The Incomparable One.