Top Ten Tuesday for December 17, 2019: Winter TBR.

 

ttt-big2

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

The rules are simple:

  • Each Tuesday, Jana assigns a new topic. Create your own Top Ten list that fits that topic – putting your unique spin on it if you want.
  • Everyone is welcome to join but please link back to The Artsy Reader Girl in your own Top Ten Tuesday post.
  • Add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s post so that everyone can check out other bloggers’ lists.
  • Or if you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment.

This week’s topic: Winter TBR

This week, the TTT is supposed to be for the top ten books on our “Winter TBR” list. To be honest, I don’t have 10 books on my TBR list for just the winter (I don’t read that many books a year as it is), mostly because I never know what print books I’ll decide to read, or when. However, I already have (more than) 10 ARCs that will be published in the first half of 2020, so I’ll go with these instead (Note: all links here are affiliate links). They are:

Lady Clementine small1. “Lady Clementine” by Marie Benedict, publication date 07-Jan-20.

Goodreads blurb: In 1909, Clementine Churchill steps off a train with her new husband, Winston. An angry woman emerges from the crowd to attack, shoving him in the direction of an oncoming train. Just before he stumbles, Clementine grabs him by his suit jacket. This will not be the last time Clementine Churchill saves her husband.

All the Ways we Said Goodbye2. “All the Ways We Said Goodbye” by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, and Karen White (aka “Team W”), publication date 14-Jan-20.

Goodreads blurb: The New York Times bestselling authors of The Glass Ocean and The Forgotten Room return with a glorious historical adventure that moves from the dark days of two World Wars to the turbulent years of the 1960s, in which three women with bruised hearts find refuge at Paris’ legendary Ritz hotel. The heiress…  The Resistance fighter… The widow… Three women whose fates are joined by one splendid hotel.

Dreamland3. “Dreamland” by Nancy Bilyeau, publication date 16-Jan-20.

Goodreads blurb: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground. The invitation to the luxurious Oriental Hotel a mile from Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.

Lost Diary of M4. The Lost Diary of Mby Paul Wolfe, publication date 25-Feb-20.

Goodreads blurb: She was a longtime lover of JFK. She was the ex-wife of a CIA chief. She was the sister-in-law of the Washington Post’s Ben Bradlee. She believed in mind expansion and took LSD with Timothy Leary. She was a painter, a socialite and a Bohemian in Georgetown during the Cold War. And she ended up dead in an unsolved murder a year after JFK’s assassination. The diary she kept was never found. Until now…

Girl in the White Gloves5. The Girl in the White Glovesby Kerri Maher, publication date 25-Feb-20.

Goodreads blurb: Twenty years into her crumbling marriage, [Princess] Grace finds herself frustrated and disillusioned. Conflicted by notions of family, career, and the very nature of womanhood–notions Grace herself shaped for a generation of women–the world’s loneliest princess searches for purpose beyond the labels and headlines. A Hollywood darling, a fairy-tale princess, and a wife starved for autonomy; Grace Kelly is a woman divided. And though she is confined by public perception and societal conventions, one thing is certain–she will never bow to them.

Operator6. “The Operator” by Gretchen Berg, publication date 10-Mar-20.

Goodreads blurb: A clever, surprising, and ultimately moving debut novel, set in a small Midwestern town in the early 1950s, about a nosy switchboard operator who overhears gossip involving her own family, and the unraveling that discovery sets into motion. In a small town, everyone knows everyone else’s business…

Queen of the Owls7. “Queen of the Owls” by Barbara Probst, publication date 07-Apr-20.

Goodreads blurb: Until she met Richard, Elizabeth’s relationship with Georgia O’Keeffe and her little-known Hawaii paintings was purely academic. Now it’s personal. Richard tells Elizabeth that the only way she can truly understand O’Keeffe isn’t with her mind—it’s by getting into O’Keeffe’s skin and reenacting her famous nude photos.

Code Name Helene8. “Code Name Hélène” by Ariel Lawhon, publication date 07-Apr-20.

Goodreads blurb: From the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia for fans of The Alice Network and The Nightingale , comes a thrilling story based on the real life of Nancy Wake, a bold young journalist turned spy for the Allied Forces, who went on to become the Gestapo’s most wanted person and the most decorated woman of WWII. Armed with a ferocious wit, her signature red lipstick and the full support of the British government, Nancy becomes one of the most respected and powerful figures within the French resistance, all the while doggedly working towards liberation, and back to her beloved Henri.

Astonishing life of August March9. “The Astonishing Life of August March” by Aaron Jackson, publication date 07-Apr-20.

Goodreads blurb: Abandoned as an infant by his actress mother in her theater dressing room, August March was raised by an ancient laundress. Highly intelligent, a tad feral, August is a true child of the theater –able to recite Shakespeare before he knew the alphabet. But like all productions, August’s wondrous time inside the theater comes to a close, and he finds himself in the wilds of postwar New York City, where he quickly rises from pickpocket street urchin to star student at the stuffiest boarding school in the nation.

Queen's Secret10. “The Queen’s Secret” by Karen Harper, publication date 19-May-20.

Goodreads blurb: … George was thrust onto the throne when his brother Edward abdicated, determined to marry his divorced, American mistress Mrs. Simpson. Vowing to do whatever it takes to make her husband’s reign a success, Elizabeth endears herself to the British people, and prevents the former king and his brazen bride from ever again setting foot in Buckingham Palace. Elizabeth holds many powerful cards; she’s also hiding damaging secrets about her past and her provenance that could prove to be her undoing.

TCLBR happy reading wide

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday for December 17, 2019: Winter TBR.

  1. Nice list! I’m half through Lady Clementine, and really enjoying it so far. But when I’m done, I’ll watch some documentary on her, just to check, as I was a bit disappointed at how Marie Benedict evoked the life of Hedy Lamarr in her latest book

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OhMyGoodess! “The Girl in the White Gloves” LOOKS gorgeous. Haven’t heard of it before now though, so I’ll have to take a closer look. Thanks for featuring it. 🙂 Appreciate your visit to Finding Wonderland.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh no. This list is making me want to head over to Netgalley and request them all, but I’m on an arc ban. I will add them to my Goodreads tbr, though. 😉 The Operator sounds so good! Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.